Pat Benatar: Precious Time

IMG_1405

Oh Pat, how did I love thee back in the 80’s.  You were, and kinda still are, one a hot rockin’ chick.  I always really liked Pat’s music but for some reason I never really considered myself a fan.  Her music rocks and she is hot as hell so I don’t understand.  Anyway, the standout, pop culture, event of Pat Benatar for me HAS got to be where “she’s one of the three girls who have “cultivated” the Pat Benatar look” at Ridgemont High.  Totally a classic moment in cinematic history.

Top tracks on side one have got to be “Promises In The Dark” and “Fire and Ice” with an honorable mention to “Precious Time”.  All three of these tunes took me back to a specific time in my life.  These specifically to where I actually was making mixed tapes from MTV music videos on VHS.  I guess I had a lot of time on my hands.  Side two was mediocre but I need to give props to Pat’s take of Helter Skelter.  There are a few classic tunes that bands cover from time to time that I like to take note of.  Train Kept a Roll’n and Helter Skelter are two of the big ones and Pat does Helter Skelter justice.

Also, I totally remember the Chrysalis label this was released on.  Chrysalis sold off it’s library in 1990 and 1991 to EMI… which of course I had to look up on Wikipedia where I also found out that the name, Chrysalis, was both a reference to the pupal stage of a butterfly and a combination of its founders names, Chris Wright and Terry Ellis.  Learn something new everyday. P.S. – The liner notes included lyrics… again… love that!!!

IMG_1405 IMG_1406

Pat Benatar: Precious Time July 6, 1981 – Chrysalis Side One

  1. Promises In The Dark
  2. Fire and Ice
  3. Just Like Me
  4. Precious Time

Side Two

  1. It’s A Tuff Life
  2. Take It Any Way You Want It
  3. Evil Genius
  4. Hard To Believe
  5. Helter Skelter

Leave a comment