Soundtrack: Something Wild

il_fullxfull.157403471

Something Wild was a different sort of movie staring Melanie Griffith and Jeff Daniels.  The movie was a bit off beat but the soundtrack what basically the who’s who of music of the mid-’80s.  I mean we’re talking David Byrne, Fine Young Cannibals, UB40, Oingo Boingo, New Order, Sister Carol just to name a few… or half.  The soundtrack outshone the movie to me.  Being a Talking Heads fan I of course loved Loco De Amor by David Byrne.  I also listened to a lot of Fine Young Cannibals and New Order in my day.  It was great listening to these tracks again.  Several of them did that whole thing where a song can bring you back to a time.  I would say that happened to me 3 times during this album.

I remember the movie being a bit kookie but a bit edgy.  I’m sure if i watched the film again, my perception would be pure cheese and totally ’80’s.

Anyway, favorite tracks where from the aforementioned bands above.  Great retro album.  Listening to the Fine Young Cannibals track “Ever Fallen in Love” has made me go back and rummage through my music collection and find those albums.  I may be more of a fan of the Fine Young Cannibals than previously thought.

il_fullxfull.157403471 91woLyFSgdL._SL1500_

Soundtrack:  Something Wild

1986 – MCA Records

Side One

  1. Loco De Amor
  2. Ever Fallen In Love
  3. Zero, Zero Seven Charlie
  4. Not My Slave
  5. You Don’t Have To Cry

Side Two

  1. With You Or Without You
  2. Highlife
  3. Man With A Gun
  4. Temptation
  5. Wild Thing

Leave a comment