INXS: Listen Like Thieves

IMG_1360

Now this was an influential album for me.  I think I was a sophomore in high school when I experienced this album for the first time.  This album was a huge part of my early high school days.  I was even “that kid” with the INXS drawn on his backpack… along with the Pink Floyd marching hammers and I know a few other icons that I can’t recall at the moment.  I tell ya, I have always had eclectic tastes when it came to good music.

Anyway, this album left me for quite some time in my late 20’s to late 30’s.  Not playing the songs or even hearing them on the radio.  And then something sparked my interest in them again so I purchased this album on iTunes around 2007ish.  Wow! What a trip down memory lane that was for me. This is truly one of those albums that can take me back to specific moment in time. “Kiss The Dirt”, “What You Need”, really the entire album.  Many of these tunes hold prominate spots on my current playlists today.  I can’t believe I had gone so long without reintroducing this album into my life.

When I was unboxing all of my albums, that have been stored in the closet for 20 years, I was so glad this one had survived the journey of several moves and a three states.  And listening to it again today was special.  The needle had not dropped on this vinyl in probably 25 years if not longer.  Mmmm does it sound good!

IMG_1360 IMG_1361

INXS:  Listen Like Thieves

October 14, 1985 – Atlantic 

Side One

  1. What You Need
  2. Listen Like Thieves
  3. Kiss The Dirt (Falling Down The Mountain)
  4. Shine Like It Does
  5. Good + Bad Times

Side Two

  1. Bitting Bullets
  2. This Time
  3. Three Sisters
  4. Same Direction
  5. One X One
  6. Red Red Sun

Leave a comment